The Evolution Man

Currently Reading: The Evolution Man: Or, How I Ate My Father

Author: Roy Lewis

Genre: Fiction / Historical Fiction / Science Fiction / Humour

Terry Pratchett mentions this novel a few times in his writings in A Slip of the Keyboard. It was Pratchett’s ravings about the humour and enjoyment he had received from this novel that were enough to make me pause reading his collection of non-fictions and order The Evolution Man: Or, How I Ate My Father from Amazon before I could continue reading. (Otherwise, I had this nagging sensation something was missing from my bookshelf and my to-read pile.)

It took an agonising week for the novel to arrive, but fortunately only one afternoon for me to read it.

I laughed my way through this very well-written, imaginative tale of our prehistoric ancestors. The satirical juxtaposition between prehistoric struggles and ‘modern thought’ made me reconsider how I look at our ancestors. (It does not help that, while reading this book, I was watching a docuseries about the amazing technology of the ancient world. Apparently, our ancestors had a basic battery…) The televisions series mixed with the intellectual, pompous humour only capable of a 1950’s Brit made me consider a prehistoric character with wit, intellect, and worries similar to his/ her modern-day ancestor.

If you don’t enjoy British humour, this book will be difficut and unenjoyable.

-A Bookish Girl

Leave a Reply

