Lady Trent Memoirs (To Date)

Books Read: A Natural History of Dragons, The Tropic of Serpents, Voyage of the Basilisk, & In the Labyrinth of Drakes

AuthorMarie Brennan

Genre: Fiction/Fantasy/Science Fiction

I cannot believe I have already broken my no post until the entire series is completed rule. It seems like just yesterday I was certain this rule was a sound idea. Then, I finished what has been published in this series. I realised that the author’s website says she will write another in a year, which means you all have plenty of time to catch up before the release of the final instalment of Lady Trent’s memoirs. I decided that my review would be better published now to encourage others to pick up these books.

Let me start by saying; these books are not about dragons. They are very much about the struggles of a woman in a scientific field when women were considered inferior in mind and constitution than me. Despite this being in a world much like Victorian England, the acceptance struggles she faces are still relevant in today’s scientific community. As one of ten females in an engineering programme boosting over 100 students, many of her difficulties were eerily personal for me. So much so, I have added these books to my significant other’s reading list so he could come to understand the patronising, belittling, and frustrating situations that occur because women are not considered as mechanically inclined as men. (Even though I have spent more time under my hood and vehicle than many of them.)

Other than identifying intensely with the main character’s professional obstacles, I found that I connected with Lady Trent. It often felt like she had sat down to pen a memoir and that I had the privilege of sitting in her drawing room while she read it alone to me. Meaning the writing is so personal it does give the reader the feel of intimately knowing and understanding the protagonist. (Less in the first novel, but that may be the reader getting to know the character. It may also be the author getting more comfortable writing as Lady Trent.)

I would recommend these to anyone who would like to know what it is like to be a female in engineering or medicine or any other male dominated field today, anyone looking to read an entertaining and action-filled fantasy novel, or anyone seeking an animated series to enjoy during these bright, perfect spring days.

-A Bookish Girl

Leave a Reply

