A Blink of the Screen: Collected Short Fiction

I found this book on my bookshelf. I am not sure how it got there; however, I am quite glad that it did. Interrupting another fantasy series, this collection of Pratchett stories caused a great disturbance in my reading queue. (I have put The Malazan Book of the Fallen series even further on delay because I am picking up all the Pratchett novels I can.) This collection contains writing from all the stages of Pratchett’s career. At thirteen, Pratchett already had the biting wit and satire that makes you stop and reconsider your mental models. This collection is entertaining, clever, and thought-provoking…some stories much more than others.

The ability Pratchett has of looking at the world and making it magical, silly, and/or engaging in a completely new way makes the adult world a bit easier to navigate. I think that subliminally I hope reading everything Pratchett has written will open my eyes to the magic and excitement in the everyday. Whatever it is, Pratchett brings a bit of joy and wonder into my world and I cannot seem to get enough of him.

If you haven’t yet picked up a Pratchett novel, I urge you to do so now. I think you will find it brightens your day a bit and makes you think differently.

-A Bookish Girl

Leave a Reply

